• Dansk
  • Deutsch
  • English
  • CRL_Alm_01
  • CRL_Alm_02
  • CRL_Alm_03
  • CRL_Alm_04
  • CRL_Alm_05
  • CRL_Alm_06
  • CRL_Alm_07
  • CRL_Alm_08
  • CRL_Alm_09
  • CRL_Alm_10

The new national park - The Wadden Sea

Printer-friendly version

The Wadden Sea is a part of the North Sea
, which lies within the Frisian islands. The Frisian islands are stretching from Holland´s northwestern corner at Den Helder to Ho Bugt near Esbjerg. The Wadden Sea is called so, because it is so shallow that large parts of it are dry at low tide. These areas are called flats. Two times a day, we have tides.

The reason for this exchange of the height of the water, is the lunar attraction. In Roemoe we have a difference of approx. two meters. The Wadden Sea is such a wonderful natural area and is now the new national park in Denmark. The UN has also whished to get the Wadden Sea included in the World Heritage, like the Grand Canyon in the USA and Great Barrier Reef in Australia. Did you know that more than 500 species and 20 plants are found only in the Wadden Sea?